Nigeria’s President Muhammadu Buhari has declared an overnight curfew from 8 pm to 6 am across the country, as part of new measures to contain the spread of the COVID-19.
These measures come along with the phased and gradual easing of lockdown measures in FCT, Lagos and Ogun States, and will take effect from Saturday, 2nd May 2020, at 9 am.
The president made this declaration during the nationwide presidential broadcast on Monday evening.

“This means all movements will be prohibited during this period except for essential services,” the president said.

In addition to other measures, President Buhari stated that inter-state passenger travel will also be restricted until further notice.

“There will be a ban on non-essential inter-state passenger travel until further notice;

Partial and controlled interstate movement of goods and services will be allowed for the movement of goods and services from producers to consumers”.

The President also announced a lockdown in Kano State, saying, “With regards to Kano, I have directed the enforcement of a total lockdown for a period of two weeks effective immediately.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here