The Independent National Electoral Commission(INEC) has declared Edo Governor Godwin Obaseki re-elected.

Akpofure Rim-Rukeh, the returning officer for the Edo state governorship election and vice-chancellor of the Federal University of Petroleum Resources announced the PDP candidate, Godwin Obaseki as the winner of the Edo 2020 Governorship Election.

Mr Obaseki polled 307,955 votes

to defeat his main rival, Osagie Ize-Iyamu of the All Progressives Congress (APC), who had 223,619 votes

. He also won in 13 of the 18 local government areas and thus scored more than 25 per cent of votes cast in two-thirds of the local governments in the state to satisfy the second constitutional requirement to be declared governor.

Mr Obaseki won his first election in 2016 as a candidate of the APC, principally supported by Adams Oshiomhole, the immediate past governor and former chairman of the APC. Mr Ize-Iyamu was then the candidate of the PDP.

But in the course of his term as the governor, Mr Obaseki became estranged with Mr Oshiomhole, causing an epic political battle now capped off with his victory today.

The battle contributed to the fall of Mr Oshiomhole as the chairman of the APC. But Mr Obaseki also could not get that party’s ticket and he had to switch to the PDP with his deputy, Phillip Shaibu.

Days ahead of the election, APC leader and former governor of Lagos, Bola Tinubu, had in a recorded broadcast made an “appeal” to the Edo electorate to “reject” Mr Obaseki, whom he dismissed as having no sound democratic credential.

Mr Obaseki won in 13 local government areas, including his home Oredo LGA, which is the largest. Mr Ize-Iyamu, on the other hand, won the remaining five local governments, including his main backer Mr Oshiomole’s Etsako West.

Mr Ize-Iyamu lost his home LGA of Orhionmwmwon. Results from each of the 18 local government areas

1) Igueben LGA

PDP 7,870 (Winner)

APC 5,199

Total 13170

Total votes cast 13,382

Election materials snatched in Ward 8, Unit 2

———————————————————————————————– 2) Esan North-East

APC 6,556 PDP 13579 (Winner)

Valid votes 20,369

Total votes cast 20,730

———————————————————————————————– 3) Esan Central

APC 6,719 PDP 10,794 (Winner)

———————————————————————————————– 4) Ikpoba-Okha

APC 18,218 PDP 41,030 (Winner)

———————————————————————————————– 5) Uhunmwonde

APC 5,972 PDP 10,022 (Winner)

———————————————————————————————– 6) Egor LGA

APC 10,202 PDP 27,621 (Winner)

———————————————————————————————– 7) Owan East

APC 19,295 (Winner)

PDP 14,762

———————————————————————————————– 8) Owan West

APC 11,193 PDP 11,485 (Winner)

———————————————————————————————– 9) Esan South-East

APC 9,237 PDP 10,565 (Winner)

———————————————————————————————– 10) Ovia North East

APC 9,907 PDP 16,987 (Winner)

———————————————————————————————– 11) Etsako West LGA APC 26,140 (Winner)

PDP 17,959

———————————————————————————————– 12) Oredo LGA

APC 18,365 PDP 43,498 (Winner)

———————————————————————————————– 13) Esan West

APC 7,189 PDP 17,434 (Winner)

———————————————————————————————– 14) Akoko Edo LGA APC – 22,963 (Winner)

PDP – 20,101

———————————————————————————————– 15) Etsako East LGA APC – 17,011 (Winner)

PDP – 10,668

———————————————————————————————– 16) Etsako Central LGA

APC 8,359 (Winner)

PDP 7,478

———————————————————————————————– 17) Orhiomwon LGA

APC 10,458 PDP 13,445 (Winner)

———————————————————————————————– 18) Ovia South-West

APC – 10,636 PDP – 12,659 (Winner)



APC: 223,619 PDP: 307,955 (Winner)

Total valid votes: 537,407

Rejected votes: 12,835

Total votes cast: 550,242



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here