Leaders of the All Progressives Congress, APC, in the South-South have passed a vote of confidence on President Muhammadu Buhari’s administration.

The decision was taken at a meeting held in Abuja on Tuesday night, where the decision was reached.

The meeting also resolved to work together in harmony in the interest of party faithful.

A communique issued at the end of the meeting commended Buhari for his tremendous work despite the difficult situation.

The communique signed by the Secretary of the Party’s Caretaker/Extraordinary Convention Planning Committee, Sen. James Akpanudoedehe harped on the “need for the South South to meet periodically and re-energize the party into a proper winning machine in time for the 2023 General Elections.”

Akpanudoedehe noted that APC under Governor Mai Mala Buni-led CECPC has been repositioned as a “party of choice” for Nigerians as evidenced with the several high-profile and mass defections to the APC.

The communique reads partly: “The meeting applauds Mr. President for the tremendous work he is doing under very difficult circumstances. Consequently, a vote of confidence was passed on the administration of President Muhammadu Buhari.

“The meeting resolved that leaders must work together in harmony in the interest of the party and our people.

“The meeting condemned the divisions amongst the leaders and urged on the need to foster unity in the zone.

“The meeting resolved to set up a committee of six persons of integrity to handle reconciliation and issues from the various states. The committee is headed by H.E. Chief John Odigie-Oyegun with H.E. Lucky Imasuen as Secretary. Other members are: Chief Sunny Jackson, Dr. Mrs. Maryam Ali, Dr. Sam Jaja, Sen. Cleaver Ikisikpo and Chief Dr. Emmanuel Nsan.”