President Muhammadu Buhari has forwarded the names of the immediate past Service Chiefs to the Senate as non-career Ambassadors-Designate.


In a letter to Senator Ahmad Ibrahim Lawan, President of the Senate, the President said: “In accordance with section 171 (1), (2) (c) & sub-section (4) of 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended, I have the honour to forward for confirmation by the Senate, the under-listed five (5) names of nominees as Non-Career Ambassadors-Designate.”


The nominees are:

  • Abayomi G. Olonisakin, retired general and former chief of defence staff;
  • Tukur Y. Buratai, retired lt-gen and former chief of army staff
  • Ibok-Ete Ibas, retired vice-admiral  and former chief of naval staff
  • Sadique Abubakar, retired air marshal and former chief of air staff
  • Mohammed S. Usman, retired air vice marshal and former chief of defence

The President urged the Senate to give expeditious consideration to the nominations.

This is coming a week after Buhari replaced them as service chiefs.


In the official announcement, they were said to have resigned and then retired.