The federal government has named the Idu railway complex and the light rail station both in the federal capital territory (FCT) after Amina Mohammed, deputy secretary-general of the United Nations.

Mohammed is a former minister of environment in Nigeria.


The announcement was made on Tuesday, via the federal government’s Twitter handle @NigeriaGov.


“NOTICE: The Federal Government of Nigeria has named the Idu Railway Complex—including the Idu Railway Station of #AbujaKadunaRail & the Light Rail Station of the FCT #AbujaMetro, and associated facilities—after @AminaJMohammed, Deputy Secretary General of the United Nations @UN,” the tweet reads.


She becomes the first living Nigerian woman to have a railway station named after her.

In 2020, President Muhammadu Buhari named some stations along the Lagos-Ibadan and the Itakpe-Ajaokuta-Warri corridors after ‘deserving Nigerians’.


Former President Goodluck Jonathan; Bola Tinubu, national leader of the All Progressives Congress (APC); Wole Soyinka, Nobel laureate; and Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo are among those who made the list.


Other Nigerians that stations were named after include: Mobolaji Johnson (Ebute Metta Station); Babatunde Fashola (Agege Station); Lateef Jakande (Agbado Station); Obafemi Awolowo (Ibadan Station), Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti (Papalanto Station); Segun Osoba (Olodo Station) and Micheal Ibru (Opara Station).

However, former President Olusegun Obasanjo was exempted.