The Speaker of Oyo State House of Assembly, Adebo Ogundoyin has announced the dissolution of all standing committees of the House.

Ogundoyin made this announcement during a plenary of the House on Thursday.

He added that the dissolution is with immediate effect.

Our correspondent recalls that the 9th Assembly was inaugurated in June 2019.

The standing committees were inaugurated shortly after the inauguration of the Assembly.

The Speaker has, however, announced the dissolution of all standing committees of the house.

Ogundoyin while announcing the dissolution noted that the need to dissolve the committee was necessary in order to ensure that the Assembly became more efficient and effective.

He said that the dissolution is normal as far as the legislature is concerned.

“Standing committees are one of the pillars of the legislature and the House of Assembly.

“This is the second year in office, we expect to be more effective, we expect to be more efficient in our roles as legislature in terms of oversight functions, in terms of lawmaking and other functions of the legislature.

“What happened in the parliament is normal. It tends to sharpen the legislature.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here