Being Text of Address by the Speaker,

Rt Hon Chinedum Enyinnaya Orji FNSE, on the Peaceful Resolution of the Crisis in the 7th Abia State House of Assembly this 24th Day of May, 2023

1. Whereas on the 2nd Day of May, 2023, some members of Abia State House of Assembly purportedly gathered at a government facility namely Emeka Omeruah Guest House, Umuahia and claimed to have impeached the Speaker of the 7th Abia State House of Assembly, Rt Hon Chinedum Enyinnaya Orji FNSE.

2. And whereas, the House of Assembly in its duly convened plenary session on the same 2nd May, 2023, impeached the Deputy Speaker, Rt Hon Ifeanyi Uchendu who presided over the said illegal session outside the legislative chambers and also suspended some members of the House whose pictures appeared in that illegal sitting

And whereas the above actions and inactions created crisis in the Assembly.


1. That the suspension of some Honourable Members of the House of Assembly is hereby lifted and voided via legislative actions.

2. That Rt Hon Egwuronu Mandela Obasi remains the Deputy Speaker of the 7th Abia State House of Assembly.

3. That the House shall reconvene in an extra-ordinary session on the 26th Day of May, 2023 for presentation and consideration of End-of-Tenure reports from the following committees.

a. Committee report on Public Accounts and MDG’s

b. Committee report on Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs

c. Committee report on Works and projects implementation

d. Committee report on Health institutions

e. Ad-hoc Committee report on Joint Projects

f. Ad-hoc Committee report on completion of JAAC Building

g. Consideration of Appropriate Date for Valedictory Session of the 7th Assembly.

1. Rt Hon Chinedum
Enyinnaya Orji FNSE

2. Rt Hon Egwuronu Obasi
Deputy speaker.

3. Hon Solomon Akpulonu
Majority Leader.

4. Hon Chijioke Chukwu
Minority leader.

5. Hon A.C. Thomas Nkoro
6. Hon Paul Taribo
7. Hon Mike Ukoha
8. Hon Abraham Oba
9. Hon Kelechi Onuzuruike
10. Hon Emeka Okoroafor
11. Hon Jerry Uzosike
12. Hon Stanley Nwabuisi
13. Hon Emmanuel Ndubuisi
14. Hon Nnamdi Allen Nwachukwu
15. Hon Ginger Onwusibe
16. Hon Aaron Uzodike


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here